Irma concerns cancel Southern League Championship series

The cancellation of the Southern League Tournament due to Hurricane Irma concerns could mean the Chattanooga Lookouts will be declared co-champions if they win the Southern League Northern Division series. (Image: WTVC)

Concerns over Hurricane Irma have forced the Southern League to cancel its annual BC Powder Southern League Championship Series.

The League announced the move early Thursday morning on Facebook, and the Chattanooga Lookouts passed the news along:

The announcement says, "With the well-being of players, families and fans of those in the projected path of the storm in mind, the League determined that the Championship Series would not take place this year. Each of the winners of the best-of-5 North and South Division Series will be declared Co-Champions for the 2017 Southern League season."

"With an abundance of caution, I have made the hard decision to cancel our Championship Series," said league president Lori Webb. "Due to concerns for our players' safety, coupled with potential shortages of gas, hotel rooms and other items that may hinder the many evacuees leaving the affected area, it seemed like the right thing to do. As this storm passes through, I hope for the best to all those in harm's way."

The release goes on to say the South Division Series has also been affected by the impending weather and evacuation. Game 3 (and games 4 and 5, if necessary) will be relocated from Jacksonville, but the Jumbo Shrimp will remain the "home" team for all three contests. Game 3 will be held in Pensacola, the host site of Games 1 and 2, while Games 4 and 5 would be played in Biloxi.

This doesn't affect the Southern League's North Division Series, which is now underway.

The Chattanooga Lookouts defeated the Montgomery Biscuits Thursday night at AT&T field in game 1 of that series.

The Lookouts have a commanding lead of the Northern Division, with 49 wins and 21 losses, a win percentage of .700.

The Looks will play the Biscuits in Game 2 of the series Thursday night at AT&T Field, at 7:15 p.m.

If they win this series, they'll be declared co-champions for the season.

Go Lookouts!